Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m excited to announce that after six years, with my sister’s help, I have found a study primarily for those diagnosed with LEMS (Lambert Eaton Mysathenic Syndrome). The study takes place in either Miami or LA. The program manager contacted me today. He was not surprised I developed this disease from cancer. He seemed quite knowledgeable about the disease. He is trying to contact my neurologist at Emory.

There is one other option in August, GA. My sister Susan and her husband could drive me there. Also, I did find a friend in Miami who will drive with me from Ft. Lauderdale to Miami. My niece said she would drive me to the Atlanta airport. My sister Janice said she would also. Of course, a lot of prayers will be needed. It also depends if my doctor determines I am a candidate for the study.

I knew there was something out there that might help improve my quality of life or help others with this debilitating disease. I only wish it hadn’t have taken six years to find it. It is a new drug introduced that the FDA is trying to approve in the United States. It has already been approved in the European market.

I will see what develops in the next few days. Not sure at this stage when the study will begin, but I feel it will be soon. The program manager advised I will need to be placed on the drug first before the Miami study. Please keep your fingers crossed and prayers for a positive outcome. I pray this is the answer I’ve been looking for. Hopefully, it can replace my infusions one day.

No offenses were intended for friends or family members. I’m sorry if anyone was insulted with previous comments. This is an exciting moment, yet scary and emotional at the same time. Praise God for His goodness. If it is His will, the doors will open.