I am in midst of another storm in life. Life has seemed to be stressful lately. I see my elderly parents, well into their 80’s now, as fragile and immortal ‘beings’ on this planet. A once strong and empowered mother, is now the victim of her age and senility. My six-foot father shows his age physically with a deteriorated and weaker body. It makes me wonder what will happen when they both pass this earth.

I became a stronger person when I divorced many years ago. I learned to be independent and work for a living. I earned a doctorate degree and obtained a well-earned retirement by age 52. Maybe bragging on myself, but I have accomplished some things I feel I wouldn’t have done if still married. I had all the comforts of home then and a husband that could financially support me. I wanted more and my own identity for some reason.

At times, I just want to cry. It wouldn’t solve the problem, but would make me feel a hell of a lot better. Over the past couple of months, our mother hasn’t been feeling good. We know the difference. Scared that she has suffered another stroke, my sister tried to get her into the car this morning to take her to her doctor. My mother would not budge. I am waiting on the doctor to call back to see the next step.

It is terrible to see your aging parents medically ill. My beloved mother, who is normally a bright and positive person, is now determined to stay away from doctors and the hospital at all costs. I feel helpless that I can not help her – physically that is. She has gone to medical clinics and doctors who say her medicine is okay and she is cleared of infection. I am really concerned of her refusal to seek medical help at this time.

In the midst of this storm, I am getting medical tests of my own this week. There is far too much pollen in the air, which hinders breathing. Doctors are not sure why I am short of breath, but I believe it has something to do with the high pollen count at this time of year. Georgia is probably the worst state to live in during springtime if one suffers from seasonal allergies. I am one of those people.

Hope everyone has a good week with lots of sunshine and warmth. Spring is definitely here now!