Tags

, , ,

Divorce With Me invited me to a 5-day challenge to join the Five Photos/Five Stories Challenge by posting a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or nonfiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge.

With Memorial Day just around the corner, I remember my 88-year (young) father this day, who fought in the Korean War. He served proudly both in the Navy and Air Forces. Times were rough during the war. My father was stationed on the ship named the Bennington (Hawaii) during the Navy (1944-1946) for nearly 2 years. He enlisted in the Reserves at Cocoa Beach, Florida in the Air Forces in 1951 for 1 year. I was not yet born (or thought of) nor my youngest sister, but my eldest sister was an infant then and my next to oldest sister was soon on the way to be born.

So Dad, I salute you and all your glory for the veterans that fought for this county to make us free. In your honor, I wrote a poem for you today, entitled “Liberty.” Dad

Liberty is not cheap, It is a privilege, Not to be taken lightly. For liberty’s sake, We must fight, With dignity and pride, Across all humanity. To the brave soldiers, Gallant and bold, That died for our freedom, And to those that served, To better our country, To make this land free, I salute you. If it were not for your Bravery and courage, There would be No free speech, No freedom to live, In peace and harmony, Among men and women. I proudly wave the American flag today, In honor of your presence, Knowing you have Given your time and Your life to protect, This great country.

I nominate Yoshiko (https://daylighttune.wordpress.com/) to the 5 Photos/5 Stories Challenge. She has inspirational stories which will inspire you. I love her poetry and poetic expressions. Please remember you are not obligated to accept or participate. I would love to see some great pictures and stories.