Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I accepted Harsh Reality’s Challenge. My daily life in Marietta, Georgia, located in the Marietta-Ga-Real-Estatesoutheastern region of the United States, is filled with variety. Marietta is located in central Cobb County, Georgia, and is the county’s seat and largest city. As of the 2010 census, the city had a total population of 56,579, making it one of the Atlanta metropolitan area’s largest suburbs. Marietta is the fourth largest of the principal cities (by population) of the Atlanta metropolitan statistical area. Atlanta is the capital of and the most populous city in the US state 4of Georgia, with an estimated 2013 population of 447,841. Atlanta is the cultural and economic center of the Atlanta metropolitan area, home to 5,522,942 people and 300px-Atlanta_Montage_2

the ninth largest metropolitan area in the United States. Atlanta is the county seat of Fulton County, and a small portion of the city extends eastward into DeKalb County.

My house is close to the Square. It is best known for Glover Park, housing the Liberty Bell and the Fountain. It was named after John Glover, one of the first settlers to Marietta before the Civil War. Businessman and politician John Glover arrived in 1847. A popular figure, Glover was elected mayor when the city incorporated in 1852.MariettaGeorgia and shops

 Flowers in Glover Park

The train depot which now houses marietta-squareThe Welcome Center, was built before the civil war. It was burned during Sherman’s reign in 1864 and rebuilt in 1898. Railroad Tracks

One of the oldest structures on the Square is the Strand Theatre. It is a performing arts and film center. Originally, it was an Art Deco theatre in 1935, andstrand-theatre-marietta-ga it reopened in 2009. Built over a decade ago, the new courthouse moved to its present location, across the street from the southeast corner of the park. New Courthouse

I live in the rural outskirts with a beautiful countryside and a mountain park less than three miles away. Visitors often park and walk on a walking trail up the mountain. Across from the park is a fenced field owned by an individual resident. Every time I ride past the park, I see visitors patting the animals – llamas, ostriches, donkeys, Shetland ponies01_12_9---Shetland-Pony_web and other exotic animals inside the fenced area.

 donkeysLlamas and Ostrich llama

The history of Marietta and Cobb County is rich. My roots are here. An ancestry of six generations before me. Their survival and lives are unique in itself.Kennesaw Mountain Park

The Kennesaw Mountain Battlefield featured the field of flags two years ago, dedicating 2,000 flags for the lives lost in the 9/11 destruction of the New York Towers. Field of Flags1Field of Flags3

Field of Flags7

When it snows in the wintertime, the scenery is breath-taking. My yards are DrivewayBaxkyardWeather Wind

covered with a blanket of snow. Deer, wild turkeys and raccoons are popular here. They usually are seen outside in pairs or groups, even families. DeerDeer Running My daily activities are filled with writing and creating. I am a writer and an author. I have written both fictional and nonfictional books.

Smile! I started writing a couple of years ago. I just published my third book (fictional novel) in January, containing suspense and tragedy. My new found love is writing poetry. I spend hours on my computer writing and blogging, connecting to the world. It is my love and passion. I have a library of books in the den. As a formal schoolteacher, one of my favorite pastimes is reading.

My harsh reality is that I will have to leave this beautiful place one day. Hopefully, that won’t be for a number of years. I feel blessed to have such a rich life, full of beauty and nature around me. I wouldn’t trade places with anyone.