Tags

I am a divorcee but it has been many years. My ex-husband and I didn’t have any children, which actually turned out to be a good thing. I got the idea to write about my divorce as I see so many people going through separation, divorce or have been divorced at sometime or another. Having three sisters that kept their marriages together over the years, I felt like the black sheep of the family for being divorced. I was the only one in the family with this unfortunate demise. Truthfully, my marriage was coming to that. It was mutual that we should split after nearly 15 years of marriage. Yet, I think if I hadn’t filed for divorce, my ex-husband would had. We had simply had enough. I was becoming fed up. He pledged he wouldn’t ever marry again and would stay single the rest of his life. Some pledge. It didn’t last two months. After we separated and finally divorced, another woman moved in afterwards. I found out about it when a formal neighbor of mine called and told me six months later. My ex-husband and the other woman married 10 months after our final divorce. You tell me if something wasn’t haywire. Yes, I lost trust and I was really hurt for sometime after the divorce, especially learning the truth. He didn’t have the guts to tell me there was another woman when I asked him to his face. His answer was “No.” He clearly lied to me. He let me believe it was sort of my fault that things didn’t stay kosher between us. He even told me it was my fault we were childless, even though I felt in my heart it was his. We both had medical conditions actually. He used to joke and say that “99% of men are bastards.” He was speaking of himself. Although there may be a little truth behind that, there are some decent and nice men out there. So, I tell both men and women going through the agony of divorce, that time is your best healer. After a while, it still hurts, but less and less. Move on with your life and don’t live in the past. Unfortunately, our marriage and “we” as a couple could not reconcile, however, there are some marriages that can. Both parties have to be willing to do the hard work to make it work together. Neither one of us gave a “damn” at the end and didn’t want to put forth the effort. Yes, I felt dumped because I was the one left actually. Not a good feeling but you know, I come away feeling that my ex-husband is the real loser. He lost the love of his life. I would love to hear from other divorcees.